Book review : Aru Shah and the end of time by Roshani Chokshi

I love Indian mythology and Mahabharatham is one of the stories I grew up with. When Aru, our heroine lights up a candle on a dare, she didn’t expect the  characters she thought as fictional to come alive. An imaginative young girl becomes a Pandava now and she’s to go in a quest to save her mom and the world.

What I liked?
✨Indian mythology! For someone who loves it, this book is so fun & for someone who doesn’t know anything about it, you are in for a treat.

✨Amazing main characters
-> Aru is confident when needs to be but also has her self doubts. I love how the protagonist lies a lot just because she wants to be popular. I loved how she thinks. Some of the questions she asked in the book are thoughts I’d too.
-> Mini is such an adorable cutie pie and the bond between Aru and her is just beautiful. She is part-Indian & part-Filipino and I love how she is so smart and talks about medical things.
-> Boo our grumpy, brilliant and lovely sidekick(don’t tell him I said so)

✨How can I say no to an adventure where I get to meet characters I’ve heard so much about.

✨Weird but cute chapter titles

✨I don’t have to worry about pronouncing the  names wrongly because I know them all my life

I loved this book but I’d have loved it more had I read this one when I was a pre-teen myself. I’m happy that such a book is written and people can relate to the characters. And remember this is a children’s book where the Hindu Gods & Goddesses are portrayed as cool & fun. So try to read this as a story and not as a depiction of a religion.
There are certain things which annoyed me a bit but I’m not gonna take them into consideration and recommend this book.

Published by Belle. Shelf

Hiii!!! I’m Sabarritha, an IT analyst by profession with a passion for reading. I'm from Chennai, India. I love to draw and DIY. I watch movies, series, Kdramas. I am passionate about reading. I read YA, Contemporary romance, New Adult, Chick lit, Rom-com, fantasy, mythology & Middle grade books.

Leave a comment