Book review: From blood and Ash by Jennifer L Armentrout

Where to start???? Let me just state the obvious thing first. Hawke is love! My love! He pushed many of my favorite book boyfriends down and is now one of my top favorite bbfs. This man ruined me with his dimples. He observes everything and is so protective and just like he is intrigued by Poppy, he intrigued me in every scene.

Let’s not forget Penallaphe aka Poppy, our maiden who is forbidden to live her life in the name of her duty to the Gods. She is super skilled, badass heroine I very much enjoyed knowing about.


What should I say about the slow (yet fast) burn romance developed between them. I loved their banter and their chemistry is on fire. I loved every single time Hawke called Poppy “Liar” and also melted whenever he says Poppy or Princess. It was like I could hear him call her.

JLA focused on other characters too. Vikter is one of my favorite characters in this book. He is more than just Poppy’s guard. He is like a godfather. Tawny is such a cutie. I loved how protective she is and is the only friend Poppy has. And even though Kieran’s scenes are less in this book, I  liked him more in book 2.

This story is everything you are looking for. You’ve loyalty, friendship, suspense, action scenes, revenge, paranormal creatures, A-mazing romance and what not! The world building is next level. Even though it felt like too much info, I was okay with it.

This is my first JLA’s book and I’m sure it’s not gonna be the last. I read book 2 as soon as I finished book 1. I never do that most of the times. So you should know how amazing this book is. Treat yourself by reading this awesomesauce story but remember, Hawke is mine! ❤️

Published by Belle. Shelf

Hiii!!! I’m Sabarritha, an IT analyst by profession with a passion for reading. I'm from Chennai, India. I love to draw and DIY. I watch movies, series, Kdramas. I am passionate about reading. I read YA, Contemporary romance, New Adult, Chick lit, Rom-com, fantasy, mythology & Middle grade books.

Leave a comment