Book review : Radio silence by Alice Oseman

Listening to music or watching  happy videos soothes people. And that exactly this book did to me. This 400 pages story is about a girl who meets a boy who is the creator of this fandom she loves the most and how their relationship goes from there.


✨Firstly this book focuses on friendship. Nothing romantic between the above said boy & girl.
✨Secondly, the characters. Both Frances & Aled are my sweetie pies. If I could, I’d just hug them both. They are both nerdy & wear fandom clothes. I love how Aled is so passionate about the podcast and I love Frances for being such a fangirl. I love how they are both same yet unique in their own way. Basically I love them both.
✨Thirdly, this whole thinking about the future, the pressures young people feel to get into the best college or university and learning there are many things than just academic are beautifully said.

I loved Frances’s mom. I’ve never read a book with an awesome mom like her before. She is so cool. And Aled’s mom is completely the opposite. She is so abusive and I hate her with H in caps.

This book has the most diverse characters I’ve read in a YA book and let’s talk about LGBTQ rep. It has bisexual, gay, asexual characters. And also talks about depression. This is the best realistic YA fiction I’ve read and I highly recommend this.

Published by Belle. Shelf

Hiii!!! I’m Sabarritha, an IT analyst by profession with a passion for reading. I'm from Chennai, India. I love to draw and DIY. I watch movies, series, Kdramas. I am passionate about reading. I read YA, Contemporary romance, New Adult, Chick lit, Rom-com, fantasy, mythology & Middle grade books.

Leave a comment